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Appendix 13 = Your Rights Under California Welfare

Programs Brochure

The brochure “Your Rights Under California Welfare Programs” describes
client rights and explains the process for persons who have a complaint.
June 2011 is the current brochure publication date as of the issuance of the

MSSP Site Manual (December 2015).
more recent version is available and provide same to any client requesting
this pamphlet. The pamphlet is available in various languages and can be
accessed at Department of Social Services Civil Rights web page.

It is recommended that sites verify if a

® You cannor get your wheelchair into
examination, inferview rooms of festrooms.

8 Men ger referred 10 job training for better
paying jobs than women

®  The county does not want you to have training
because they say you are “too old.”

®  You are not allowed o adopt a baby because you
are of a different race.

DISCRIMINATION COMPLAINTS
1f you think you have been discriminated against, you may
submit a complaint application separately to the County
of the State, and the Federal Government. The Federal
agency that you must complain to depends on which
program your comphaint s about.
You can file a discrimination complaint with:
FOR ALL PROGRAMS ADMINISTERED BY
YOUR COUNTY WELFARE DEPARTMENT:
The County’s Civil Rights Coordinator. Ask
your county office for the name, address and
phone number of their Civil Rights
Coondinator. He/she will independentdy
investigate your complaint.
Civil Rights Bureau
California Department of Social Services
744 P Sureet, MS 8-16-70
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 654-2107
(866) 7416241 (Toll-Free)
. FORTHE CALFRESH PROGRAM:
Unived States Department of Agriculture
Director, Office of Civil lh!;hm
Room 326-W, Whitten Bldg.
1400 Independence Avenue, S.W.,
Washington, D.C. 20250-9410
(202) 720-6382 (voice and TTY)
4. FO YTHER PROGRAMS:
Health and Human Services
Office of Civil Rights
90 7th Street, Suite 4-100
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 437-8310 {voice)
(415) 437-8311 (TDD)

o

W

TiME Limrrs To TAKE ACTION

If you suffer discrimination, you must submit your
complaint within 180 days of the acnual
discrimination. If the discrimination also affected
the level of your benefits and services, you must also
ask for a state hearing within 90 days. A
discrimination investigation cannot change your
benefit levels or services. ..only a state hearing can
do that.

Livrts ON CerTAIN RiGHTS

Although you have the right to privacy and
confidentiality, there are certain laws that allow
limited exceptions. You can ask the county for

the laws.

QUESTIONS

If you have any questions about the rights listed
here, call the Public Inquiry Uni: toll free
(800) 952-5253. The TDD toll-free lulcphmc
number is (800) 952-8349.

PROGRAMS COVERED BY THIS PAMPHLET
Adoption Assistance Program (AAP)

Adult Protective Services

Alcohol and Drug Program

California Food Assistance Program (CFAT)
Medi-Cal

CalWORKs

CalWORKs Child Care

CalWORKs Welfare-to-Work Program/Services
Cash Assistance Program for Immigrants (CAP])
Child Welfare Services

Denti-Cal

Early & Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and
Treatment (EPSDT)

CalFresh (Food Stamps)

Foster Care

Kinship Guardian Assistance (Kin-GAP)

[
[
m  In-Home Support Services
L]
®  Menual Health

Multipurpose Senior Services Program (MSSP)
Personal Care Services E‘mgmm (PCSP)
Refugee Cash Assistance

Social Services

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES AGENCY

DEPARTMENT OF
SOCIAL SERVICES

This pamphlet is available from your Local
County Welfare Office and at www.cdss.ca.gov in
the following languages

* Arabic * Japanese  * Russian
*Amenian  *Korean  * Spanish

* Cambodian * Lao * Spanish Large Print
* Chinese * Mien * Tagalog,

* Farsi * Portuguese * Ukrainian
*Hmong  *Punjabi  *Vicmamese

Also Available in large print, Braille, and Audio CD

PUB 1311

YOUR
RIGHTS

UNDER CALIFORNIA
WELFARE PROGRAMS

.. for peaple applying for
or receiving public aid in

California

@ Tell us if you need help
because of a disability

P) Askfor a free interpreter
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Your RIGHTS

All people and organizations providing publie
assistance must respect your rights. They can help
you understand and apply for benefits and services.

®  You have the right to an interpreter free of
®  Ud. tiene derecho a un intérprete gratis
L

Bht uMeeTe MpaBo Ha yeIyri
PCBOANHES
n {RTBUR E i B
May karaparan kang magkaroon ng tag ugnay
na walang bayad.
Quy vj ¢é quyén duge mét thong
dich vién mién phi.
-Koj muaj xxoj cais yuav ib tus neegohais lus
Hmoob rau koj.
w eSS al g9 p2 i o
sl 3 gl o]
Fof whffmp pupgimbish
ppunilf o bkE:
yrwedfogrumeynunfipmange
unwisnsudlggangjw
of#

B lrd 3'.\54 13 Eaplo ugps b LleSIy
o pin Soage.
seulBogusunauulitovtdesdan
o famt svars @ mgeren e arftaea 3
Bt MacTe 1pano na GEIKOUITORNOTO NepeKaIas.
Vocé tem o direito a um/a interprete gratuito/al
Sl EHOAROME L LTH
Meih maaih leiz haih duqy dauh faan wase
mienh tengx meih maiv zuge bun nyaanh.

You HAVE A RIGHT TO...
1. Understand what is happening with your
application and aid.

~

. Get written and oral explanagions about your

application and aid.

Giet a receipt for any documents you tum in.

See your case record.

See state and county laws and regulations.

Ask a judge to review any county decision abour

ymud.lgﬂn!lq,bﬂuﬁr&.mm

7. Not face discrimination in receiving program
benefits or services.

8. File a complaint about discrimination.

. Get extra help from county seaff 1o make sure
you get your benefits if you have a disability or
impairment thar makes it hard to understand
the program rules.

10. Have your information kept confidential.

11, Be treated with courtesy and respect.

IE Yo Are HAVING PROBLEMS WITH YOUR AID

OR SERVICES:

1. Kexp records of all your information,
documents, and contacts with the county.

2. Gera receipt when you rum anything in.

3. You can bring someone with you to a meeting.
with your worker.

4. Complain. There are 4 ways 1o do this:

Informal: You can ask 1o speak to a supervisor 1o

talk about problems with a worker or to go

over the rules and the propased action on your
aid or services.

m State Hearing: Ask for a state hearing if there is a

problem with your aid or services. You must

ask for a hearing within 90 days of the county’s
action. You may be able to file after 90 days if

you have a good reason, like illness or a

disahiliy.

Discrimination complaint: 1f you feel that the

county has discriminated against you, you can

make a discrimination complaint to the

County’s Givil Rights Coordinator or 1o the

Saate Civil Rights Bureau, and to the Federal

Government. You must do this within 180 days

oﬁh:dnsmmuumn. For more on this, sce the

section b g “Prohibited Di

B\ o

P
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If the discrimination also affects your benefits or
services, you must also ask for a state hearing if
you wish to challenge the county’s decision on
your benefits or services.

8 Grievance: You can file a complaint with the
county if they have a grievance
does not protect your benefits in Lh:wxydm
ashng,fnumm"

Sr.m}lmum
& You can ask for a state hearing any time you
disagree with 2 county's action on your benefis
oF services.

®  You can also ask for a state hearing if the county
s not giving you benefits o services which you
think you should get.

®  Astate hearing is heard by a stare Administrative
Law Judge. The county will have someone at
the hearing 1o explain why they took their
action.

®  Asute hearing is not a court hearing. You do
have the right 1 have a representative with you.

There are free legal services in every county. They

are listed on the back of your county notices.

You can bring witnesses. You have the right to a

free interpreter. Ask the county how 1o get one.

+  Ifyour problem is with General Assistance
or general relief, you must ask for a county
hearing.

*  Ifyour problem is with Social Security
benefits, you must contact the Social
Security Administration.

CONTINUING YOUR Al OR SERVICES PENDING
A STATE HEARING

The county must give you a notice at least 10 days

before any action to change your aid or services takes
place. If you ask for a hearing before the action takes
place, you can get “aid paid pending” your hearing,
“This means your aid stays the same until you geta

hearing decision.

You MUST ask for a hearing on any new

notice you get, if you disagree.

HOw TO REQUEST A STATE HEARING

1. Phone: Ask for a State Hearing by contacting
the CA nt of Social Services at
(800) 743-8525 or (800) 952-5253

. Fill out the back of your Notice of Action
(NOA) or send a written request to:
CDSS, State Hearing Division
744 P Street MS. 09-17-37
Sacramento, CA 95814

PROHIBITED DISCRIMINATION

Under State law, welfare agencies may not provide

you aid, benefits or services that is different from aid

provided 10 others on the basis of
Race, Color; National Origin (including
language), Ethmic Group Identification, Age,
Disability, Religion, Sex, Sexual Orientation,
Political Affiliation, Marital Statuws, or
Domestie Parnership

Federal laws also prohibit discriimination on several,

although not all, of the bases listed above.

Federal Law also prohibis :

1. Delaying or denying the placement of a child for
adoption ot into foster care on the basis of race,
color or national origin of the adoptive or foster
parents, or the child:

2. Denying to any individual the oppormunity 1o
become a foster or adopive parent on the basis
of race, color or national origin of the individual
or child involved.

EXAMPLES OF DISCRIMINATION

®  The County does not give you a free interpreter.

L] Awudmlc!luanunuhmcgmpabmu more
programs and services than people of other

icities.

[ le(numywum help you get audio tapes of a

rogram orientation (o help you with 2
dbabdnythal makes it hard for you to read.

® A worker learns of your religion or politics and
then treats you differently.

®  You can' get to appointments because the
county building does not have an elevator.

~
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